Paper stacks

A couple of months ago I was sitting down with R doings some painting and thinking, we could really do with a paper stack to put all your work on to dry (save covering the kitchen with paper)

So while R was working hard painting the box we get our juice cartons in it struck me that I could probably make a paper stack using these boxes.
And so I did!

I used one box whole (albeit with the glued bits pulled apart) and spit a second box into three parts along the folds

20140219_120513

 

Next layered it up using a strong glue (being very descriptive I know)

20140219_12235720140219_122614 - Copy

 

Have to admit first attempt is not a pretty sight … but it does the job.

20140523_211701

 

Realising it would be just the right size to store my card blanks. I made another one, this time using 2 and a half boxes so that all my shelves were the same size. I also used some extra cardboard to neaten and strengthen the sides.

20140523_211637

Sadly the juice boxes are not quite A4 size so the papers have to go in length ways and stick out a little.

I found a blog entry that used old cereal boxes glued on top of each other  instead. (below)

20140523_185806

It does look nicer (mainly because I decorated it with wall paper samples,) but using cereal boxes was much more of a faff to cut out and stick together and the final result was not very strong. I added extra outer support to this when constructing it by glueing cardboard to the top and sides as this one is in R bedroom and things will be (and have been) put on top of it.

 

As yet to make one of these for the kitchen where we do the painting, but I have a plan.

Time will tell and if it worked I shall post it up.

Leave a comment