Up cycling

Forgive the selfies 
This project all started with the rediscovery of one of my favourite scarves. 
 A lovely colour that matches most of my wardrobe, not too chunky, just about the right length for me to hoop around my neck. (I don’t like tying knots) and lovely and soft.
 But it has a hole!
 Well turns out I needed an excuse to use one of my Bigz dies and some felt I had bought recently. So I cut some felt flowers. 
The hardest decision was weather to stack the flowers or used them separately.
 Tacked the first flower in place over the hole and started back stitching around the hole. I am hoping that will be enough to stop the hole getting worse. 
It was at this point I realised I had not thought how to attach the rest of the petals so decided to stitch a line up the petals to add detail.
 Thankfully this worked out quite nicely

1st Flower complete with tacking stitches removed.
26/01/2014
Second flower complete
08/02/2014

Completed my repair and upcycle on Monday  17/02/14
The completed scarf (hopefully post up a better photo soon)

N.B. I have only put the flowers on the one side of the scarf as the knit it has naturally rolls back on its self and the back of the flowers are unlikely the been seen. 
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LizzyG
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 22:10:44

    lovely! well done jo 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

